List of County Press Releases.
1333 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City
New Jersey
United States
+1 (609) 343-2313

Department of Administration

Office of Communications

For Immediate Release

Friday, December 31, 2021

Central Municipal Court of Atlantic County to Open on Schedule, January 3, 2022

The Central Municipal Court of Atlantic County, the first of its kind in the State of New Jersey, will open on schedule on January 3, 2022 to begin hearing cases from nine participating towns as well as all filings issued by the New Jersey State Police and other state agencies such as the Division of Gaming Enforcement.

“We will be open and operational in January as promised,” stated County Executive Dennis Levinson.

Most court proceedings will continue to be conducted virtually with in-person proceedings limited to once or twice per week.

Initially, the in-person hearings will be held in the Criminal Court Complex at 4997 Unami Boulevard, Mays Landing. The permanent location of the Central Municipal Court will be at 5901 Main Street in Mays Landing, within the historic court house.

“Renovations to the courtrooms in our historic court building on Main Street in Mays Landing have been delayed due to supply-chain shipment issues for HVAC replacement equipment,” stated Levinson, “but Superior Court Assignment Judge Julio Mendez has given his permission for the temporary use of courtrooms in the Criminal Court Complex as needed.”

“Staff has been hired, summonses have been printed, and a new website is being launched,” he added. “We have worked extremely hard to bring this shared services initiative to fruition to help save money for our taxpayers and our towns.”

Timothy Maguire will serve as the Chief Judge of the Central Municipal Court. Michele Verno, Richard Fauntleroy and Howard Freed will serve as Associate Judges and Antoinette Tummon will serve as Court Administrator. Additional hires include deputy court administrators, violations clerks, municipal prosecutors and public defenders.

The Atlantic County Sheriff’s Office will provide security and transport operations.

The nine towns that have agreed to participate beginning in 2022 include Egg Harbor Township, Galloway Township, Hamilton Township, Linwood, Northfield, Ventnor, Estell Manor, Weymouth Township and Port Republic.

For more information, please visit:

County News

Back to Top back to top