To provide information regarding Atlantic County's various advisory boards and commissions including membership details and application.

Mental Health Advisory Board

The Mental Health Advisory Board is a twelve member volunteer board. The board serves as an advocate and advisor to the county executive and the Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) for the development of mental health services to the community. Board members become thoroughly acquainted with those programs of the division and related social services and regularly review all such programs. It advises and makes recommendations on the development of policies and procedures covering community mental health programs. To achieve its purpose, the board has several committees, including planning, education, contract review and a professional advisory committee. A member must be an Atlantic County resident and not be affiliated with or have a family member is is affiliated with any agency or program funded by the NJ Division of Mental Health Services. Some knowledge of, or an interest in mental health services is helpful. MEETINGS: The Mental Health Advisory Board meets at 5:00 PM on the first Thursday of the month. The Board does not meet in July or August. Meetings are held in the Atlantic County Offices, Shoreview Building, 101 S. Shore Road, Northfield, NJ at 5:00 PM. COMMITTEES Contract Review - This committee reviews all contracts to community mental health agencies that receive funding through the DMHS. This committee also reviews and makes recommendations on Requests for Proposals (RFPs) for mental health services. Planning - This committee plans future goals and objectives for the board as well as developing future direction for mental health services in Atlantic County. Professional Advisory Committee - This committee is made up of local professionals who keep the board abreast of issues of importance. The board chooses and prioritzes these issues then devotes its' efforts toward resolving them.

Total Number of Members Allowed: 12
Number of Vacancies:  2

3-year terms beginning July 1

Commissioner Member: Commissioner  Maureen Kern
Staff Person:  Kathleen Quish, Mental Health Administrator

Phone: 609-645-7700, ext. 4519


Marcella A. Anthony
Havana M. Berry
Lisa E. Cox, Ph.D., L.C.S.W., M.S.W.
Joseph Lizza, Ed.D.
Michele A. Magara, MPH, RN
Sally Mahon, Ed.D
Sherri Parmenter, Ed.D.
Amanda Tilley
Katlin Trout
Jean B.  Wambold

Most advisory boards are open to Atlantic County residents. If you are interested in volunteering to serve on this or any other Board or Commission you may apply online or by mail. Follow this link to apply or download an application, Advisory Board or Commission Application

Back to Top back to top