The Division of Intergenerational Services serves the needs of families, youth, disabled individuals and senior citizens. Caring professionals are available to provide assessment, guidance, counseling, and information and referral. Individual case management insures a personal connection with our residents to insure that their needs are met.
101 S. Shore Road, Shoreview Building
New Jersey
United States
+1-888-426-9243 - In-County +1 (609) 645-5965 - Out-of-County

Department of Human Services

Division of Intergenerational Services

News Item

For Immediate Release

October 5, 2017

DisABILITY Awareness Month Honorees to Receive Annual Donald J. Sykes Award

Ten Atlantic County residents will be recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions to our community at the 29th annual Donald J. Sykes Awards ceremony on Thursday, October 19 at noon at the Linwood Country Club, 500 Shore Road, Linwood.

Each October the county celebrates Disability Awareness Month with the presentation of awards to individuals with disabilities who were nominated by area organizations, family or friends for their positive attitudes, personal accomplishments and their success in enriching the lives of others. The ceremony is presented as a cooperative effort of the Atlantic County Division of Intergenerational Services and the Atlantic County Disability Advisory Board. Established by the county in 1989, the ceremony was later named in memory of Donald J. Sykes, a longtime community advocate and former chairman of the county’s Disabled Citizens Advisory Board.

“We have been holding this celebration for 29 years, but it continues to be a favorite,” stated County Executive Dennis Levinson. “Each year we are inspired by the outstanding individuals who show us their strength, sense of humor, determination, and courage in making the most of their abilities in the face of challenges that could easily deter many. This award is presented with deep gratitude and respect for our honorees.”

This year’s honorees include:

Jennifer Beaver of Galloway, Leon Braithwaite and Geri Sampson of Egg Harbor Township, Kevin Canuso of Egg Harbor City, Doortje Schipper Fenwick of Linwood, Jacob Hackett of Absecon, Margaret Hardiman of Atlantic City, James Monroe of Hammonton, Jason Strother of Mays Landing, and Roland Wright of Pleasantville.

For more information about the Donald J. Sykes Awards ceremony, contact 609-645-7700 ext. 4700. (TTY, please use 711) Reserved seating only. For information on services, contact the Atlantic County Aging and Disability Resource Connection (ADRC) at 1-888-426-9243.


Back to Top back to top